INTL – CBIE 2019 Conference Bursaries

The INTL is pleased to announce that we will be awarding up to fourteen (14) bursaries to attend CBIE 2019 in Winnipeg, Manitoba from November 17 – 20, 2019. The bursary covers the full conference registration fee and will be awarded to new and emerging leaders in the field of international education.

The call for applications is now closed.

CBIE and the INTL are grateful to International Insurance for sponsoring this year’s bursaries.

Guard.Me International Insurance
Eligibility Criteria
  • Be a current employee of a CBIE member institution;
  • Have less than seven (7) years working experience in the International Education sector;
  • Have not previously attended a CBIE annual conference; and
  • Have support from their home institution confirming that, if the applicant is awarded the bursary, the home institution/organization will fund and support accommodation, meals, travel, and other associated costs of attending the conference.

The bursaries will be awarded based on merit as demonstrated in the application packages submitted, and alignment with the mission of the International Network of Tomorrow’s Leaders (INTL) professional learning community. Respecting the national scope of CBIE’s mandate, every effort will be made to ensure equal representation of all educational levels (K-12, school board, CEGEP, College, and University), geographical diversity, and linguistic representation of both official languages of Canada.


If you encounter difficulties at any time please contact CBIE at

The INTL Working Group has formed a sub-committee for the selection of conference bursary applications. Members of this subcommittee are not eligible to apply without first recusing themselves from the subcommittee. The sub-committee is lead by Pugaleni Iynkaran (University of Guelph) and other members are: Kirsty Gruber (University of Calgary), Melanie Zimmer (University of Calgary), Mylene Grondin (Université Laval), Ayuko Matsumiya (International Language Academy of Canada (ILAC)), and Laura Truesdell (Carleton University).