To ensure those aspects of international education that are top-of-mind to our members are being properly addressed, CBIE brings together advisory committees and maintains standing committees of the Board of Directors.

Education Abroad Advisory Committee

Education abroad is a central component of internationalization. Increasingly recognition is being given to the need for higher levels of participation by Canadian students and to the need to identify and reduce the obstacles they confront. The Education Abroad Advisory Committee (EAAC) was appointed in December 2013. They are named below:

  • Beth Alaksa, Coordinator, International Mobility Programs, York University
  • Rebecca Fitzgerald, Manager, International Mobility, Humber Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning
  • Lucille Landry, Responsable/Manager, Service de Mobilité, Université de Moncton
  • Andrew Lang, Director, Concordia International, Concordia University
  • Meghan McKinnie, Manager, Education Abroad, MacEwan University
  • Lynne Mitchell, Director and International Liaison Officer, University of Guelph
  • Kathy Scheepers, International Education Coordinator, Ottawa-Carleton Education Network (OCENET)
  • Marie-Claude Tremblay, Responsable du Profil international et des partenariats, Université Laval

Immigration Advisory Committee

Established in 1994, the Immigration Advisory Committee identifies critical issues from the institutional perspective, in particular systemic issues affecting international students, and works with CBIE and with Citizenship and Immigration Canada to attempt to resolve them. The committee serves as the communication liaison with CBIE members on immigration issues, and facilitates the development of more effective policies, procedures and systems meeting the needs of international students and institutions. Members of this committee are:

  • Pam Baji, Manager, Global Learning Services, Calgary Board of Education
  • Teresa Brooks, Manager, International Student Services, Langara College
  • Vanessa Casanovas, Coordonnatrice, Secteur des étudiants internationaux (Service aux étudiants), Polytechnique Montréal
  • Anna Choudhury, Senior International Student Advisor, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Natasha Clark, International Student Advisor, Memorial University
  • Diana Ning, Manager, International Student and Scholar Services, York University
  • Leah Nord, Director, Corporate Affairs and Chair of the Immigration Advisory Committee, CBIE
  • Leyda-Melissa Paulmier, Immigration Advisor/ Conseillère en Immigration, McGill University
  • Larissa Strong, Manager, International Student Support, Durham College
  • Michelle Suderman, Director, International Student Development, University of British Columbia
  • Patrick Sullivan, Manager, International Programs and Services, NAIT Polytechnic

Annual Conference Advisory Committee

From the selection of the conference theme to the successful delivery of Canada’s conference on international education, the advisory committee provides guidance and advice to CBIE staff. The Committee ensures that the program reflects the national focus, interests and priorities of CBIE.  Committee members oversee the Call for Papers process, review submissions and suggest resource persons for sessions and plenary speakers.  Members of the 2017 Committee are:

  • Geoff Wilmshurst, Vice-President Partnerships, Camosun College
  • Alain Boutet, Executive Director, Office of International Relations, Dalhousie University
  • Wendy Luther, President and CEO, EduNova Co-operative Ltd
  • Sonja Knutson, Director, Internationalization Office, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Katie Orr, Director, NSCC International, Nova Scotia Community College
  • Mike McMurray, Director, Universities and Colleges Higher Education Branch, Nova Scotia Department of Labour and Advanced Education
  • Gary Slater, Associated Vice-President, Student Affairs, University of Ottawa
  • Sylvain St-Amand, Directeur, Bureau de la coopération internationale, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)
  • Marc Usunier, Coordinator, International Initiatives, Edwards School of Business / Outgoing 2015 CBIE INTL Chair, University of Saskatchewan
  • Teeba Alsafar, International Student Advisor / CBIE INTL Chair, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Basel Alashi, Vice-President, International partnerships, Canadian Bureau for International Education
  • George Khoury, Director, Conference and Professional Development, Canadian Bureau for International Education
  • Erica Stewart, Manager, Events and Development, Canadian Bureau for International Education
  • Janice Hunt, Events and Marketing Coordinator, Canadian Bureau for International Education
  • Alissar Hajjar, Membership Services Coordinator, Canadian Bureau for International Education