Timeline

Historique du BCEI

Des années 1940 à 2016 – Découvrez notre histoire!

Le Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale a été constitué en société en 1966, mais l’organisation a d’abord été créée dans les années 1940 sous le nom des Friendly Relations with Overseas Students . L’organisation a aussi été connue sous le nom de Canadian Service for Overseas Students and Trainees.

1940

janvier 1, 1940

Le BCEI remonte aux années 1940, où il a été fondé dans les années d’après-guerre sous la bannière des Friendly Relations with Overseas Students (ou relations amicales avec les étudiants de l’étranger) par un groupe d’étudiants inspirés de la University of Toronto, parmi lesquels le professeur Thomas H. B. Symons, président-fondateur de la Trent University et Alan Earp, ancien président de la Brock University.

Read more

1966

avril 27, 1966

1966

Août 1966 – Constitution en société du BCEI – Signataires des lettres patentes :James A. Gibson, Jean-Charles Bouffard, Grace Maynard, Pierre Meunier, E. Clifford Knowles, John B. Thomas, Andrew Stewart, Douglas Mayer, Patrick Kenniff, Robert L. Dunsmore, Robert Murray MacDonald, Hugh G. Christie, Jacques Garneau, Mohammed Jeeroburkhan, Katherine D. Riddell, Helen Hnatyshyn, Gabrielle Einsle et Robert J. Torrance.  

Read more

1970

septembre 28, 1970

1970

Au cours d’une conférence tenue à la University of Guelph, W.C. Winegard est sélectionné comme président du BCEI, pour succéder à Francis Leddy. Le BCEI publie International Education Internationale à l’automne 1970, un regroupement d’articles exprimant ses intérêts variés. Il y a 22 000 étudiants étrangers au Canada.

Read more

1971

septembre 28, 1971

1971

Le premier congrès annuel du BCEI a lieu à St. John’s (Terre-Neuve).

Read more

1972

septembre 28, 1972

1972

Le BCEI organise son congrès annuel à Waterloo et des ateliers réguliers pour les associations d’étudiants étrangers. Les étudiants internationaux commencent à visiter des écoles grâce à la promotion et au financement du BCEI.

Read more

1976

septembre 28, 1976

Education Canada est absorbé par le BCEI, ajoutant une nouvelle dimension à son travail : les échanges pédagogiques au Canada et à l’international. Le premier atelier interculturel du BCEI, dirigé par Chris Bimponh, Amaoko-Nuama et Jim Shute accueille 12 membres du personnel des affaires étudiantes de 10 universités.

Read more

1977

septembre 28, 1977

Le BCEI publie des articles sur les enjeux des étudiants étrangers.

Read more

1978

septembre 28, 1978

1978

Le BCEI commence la gestion du programme Nigéria-Canada d’éducation technique, qui apportera, au fil des années qui suivent, plus de 1 000 Nigériens au Canada pour qu’ils puissent faire des études collégiales.

Read more

1979

septembre 28, 1979

1979

Le BCEI finance le premier programme de certificat pour les éducateurs internationaux au Canada dans les années 1980 à la University of British Columbia. Ce programme existe encore de nos jours. Le Council of Second Languages Programs (conseil des programmes de langue seconde) au Canada est fondé sous le parrainage du BCEI.

Read more

1980

septembre 28, 1980

Le BCEI dirige la première mission canadienne en Iran à la suite de la Révolution, faisant la promotion des relations entre les personnes grâce à l’éducation, ce qui donne lieu à un investissement majeur de l’Iran dans un programme de bourses au Canada.

Read more

1981

septembre 28, 1981

1981

Le BCEI génère un grand débat avec son étude The Right Mix (ou, le bon mélange), discutant du besoin de cibler la diversité de notre population des étudiants internationaux par le recrutement et les inscriptions.

Read more

1988

septembre 28, 1988

1988

Le BCEI fait le premier sondage national au Canada de satisfaction des étudiants internationaux, ce qui donne lieu à l’amélioration des perspectives d’emploi des étudiants internationaux et des services sur les campus et du gouvernement.

Read more

1989

septembre 28, 1989

1989

Le travail du BCEI de défense des intérêts au nom des étudiants chinois au Canada touchés par les événements de la place Tian’anmen mène le gouvernement fédéral à établir le Chinese Student Emergency Service (ou service d’urgence pour les étudiants chinois), mis en œuvre par le BCEI.

Read more

1990

septembre 28, 1990

Pendant les années 1990, en collaboration avec les meilleurs chercheurs, le BCEI oriente la discussion sur l’internationalisation de l’éducation, dégageant ses composantes et fournissant des outils de mesure des progrès, et amorçant la discussion sur les risques et responsabilités des programmes de mobilité.

Read more

1992

septembre 28, 1992

1992

Avec le soutien du gouvernement canadien, le BCEI jouit de la présence d’aide technique ininterrompue la plus longue de toutes les organisations canadiennes en Ukraine (dont 18 projets d’aide technique d’une valeur totale de plus de 80 millions de dollars canadiens), faisant intervenir une collaboration avec l’administration à l’échelle centrale, régionale et locale, avec des organisations non gouvernementales, des organisations de la société civile et des groupes de réflexion stratégique, des établissements d’enseignement et le secteur privé.

Read more

1994

septembre 28, 1994

Le BCEI est consulté par le gouvernement canadien pour créer le Comité consultatif sur les étudiants internationaux et l’immigration (CCEII).

Read more

1996

septembre 28, 1996

1996

De 1996 à 1998, une série de discussions sur des partenariats trilatéraux a lieu comprenant le BCEI, des établissements et organisations du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique. Le Program for North American Mobility in Higher Education (ou programme pour la mobilité nord-américaine en études supérieures) est créé et le CONAHEC, fondé.

Read more

2000

septembre 28, 2000

2000

Au nouveau millénaire, le BCEI s’intéresse à l’instruction transfrontalière et tente de placer ses établissements en bonne place pour comprendre et gérer les nouveaux joueurs au Canada et les nouvelles façons de se connecter à l’international. En soutien au projet du millénaire, le BCEI contribue à 130 bourses de programme d’échange pour les étudiants d’établissements membres et 30 subventions pour la création de programme par ses membres.

Read more

2010

septembre 28, 2010

2010

La relation de longue date entre la Libye et le BCEI est renouvelée quand le BCEI est choisi pour gérer le programme de bourses Libye-Amérique du Nord. Pendant les agitations de 2011, le BCEI travaille à garantir le bien-être des 2 500 boursiers libyens au Canada et aux États-Unis, obtenant le concours des administrations des deux pays et de l’ONU. Le BCEI mobilise aussi une aide efficace (morale et financière) de ses établissements membres et partenaires.

Read more

2011

septembre 28, 2011

2011

Le BCEI lance une série de recherches PhD pour encourager les nouveaux chercheurs à entrer dans le domaine.

Read more

2012

septembre 28, 2012

2012

Le BCEI se réjouit de l’administration du programme de bourses Ciência sem Fronteiras financé par le Brésil avec l’aide de son secteur privé. Son objectif principal est de promouvoir la consolidation et l’expansion des sciences, technologies et de l’innovation au Brésil grâce à des échanges internationaux et à la mobilité. Le BCEI publie son premier rapport phare Un monde à apprendre.

Read more

2013

septembre 28, 2013

Le BCEI adopte un nouveau code de déontologie s’appuyant sur son ancien code de 1993. Avec quatre autres associations nationales (ACCC, Universités Canada, ACEP-I et Langues Canada), le BCEI renouvelle son engagement envers l’éducation internationale et le nom de l’alliance devient le Consortium canadien de l’éducation internationale.

Read more

2014

septembre 28, 2014

En janvier 2014, le BCEI participe au « Dialogue mondial sur l’avenir de l’enseignement supérieur » en Afrique du Sud, organisé par une organisation sœur du BCEI : la International Education Association of South Africa (IEASA, ou association d’Afrique du Sud sur l’éducation internationale). Il donne lieu à la Déclaration de la baie Nelson Mandela, qui déclare l’engagement des participants envers la promotion d’un programme mondial d’enseignement supérieur qui soit équitable, éthique, socialement responsable et accessible. Le BCEI adopte une Déclaration de principes d’internationalisation, créée par le Réseau des leaders en internationalisation du BCEI.

Read more

2015

septembre 28, 2015

Le programme canadien de bourses de la Francophonie est un programme de bourses conçu pour renforcer les capacités des établissements en formant les ressortissants employés de pays en voie de développement de la Francophonie. Ce programme est entièrement financé par le gouvernement du Canada. Le BCEI lance le lexique du Canada sur les études à l’étranger, créé à la suite de concertations menées par le comité consultatif du BCEI sur les études à l’étranger.

Read more

2015

octobre 28, 2015

Le programme de bourses pour les leaders africains de demain commémore l’engagement de feu Nelson Mandela envers la justice sociale et l’équité. Il finance les études de jeunes professionnels africains afin qu’ils deviennent des leaders de politique publique et d’administration publique.

Read more

2016

septembre 28, 2016

Le BCEI a 50 ans! Le programme d’études sur l’immigration et les étudiants étrangers est lancé.

Read more

Timeline

CBIE Timeline

1940s-2016 | Scroll down and explore!

Although the Canadian Bureau for International Education was incorporated in 1966, the organization developed in the late 1940s as Friendly Relations with Overseas Students (FROS). The organization was also previously named Canadian Service for Overseas Students and Trainees (CSOST).

1940

January 1, 1940

CBIE dates back to the 1940s and was founded in the postwar years under the banner: Friendly Relations with Overseas Students (FROS) by a group of inspired students at the University of Toronto, among them Prof. Thomas H.B. Symons, founding President of Trent University, and Dr. Alan Earp, former President of Brock University.

Read more

1966

April 27, 1966

1966

August 1966- CBIE Incorporation- Signatories to our letters patent: James A. Gibson, Jean-Charles Bouffard, Grace Maynard, Pierre Meunier, E. Clifford Knowles, John B. Thomas, Andrew Stewart, Douglas Mayer, Patrick Kenniff, Robert L. Dunsmore, Robert Murray MacDonald, Hugh G. Christie, Jacques Garneau, Mohammed Jeeroburkhan, Katherine D. Riddell, Helen Hnatyshyn, Gabrielle Einsle and Robert J. Torrance.  

Read more

1970

April 1, 1970

1970

Dr. W.C. Winegard is drafted as CBIE’s president, succeeding Dr. Francis Leddy at a conference held at the University of Guelph. CBIE publishes International Education Internationale in the fall of 1970, a collection of papers expressing its varied interests. There are about 22,000 foreign students in Canada.

Read more

1971

August 24, 1971

1971

CBIE’s first annual Conference takes place in St. John’s Nfld.  

Read more

1972

August 27, 1972

1972

CBIE hosts its annual conference in Waterloo and holds regular workshops for Foreign Student Associations (FSAs). School visits by international students begin which are both promoted and financed by CBIE.

Read more

1976

April 28, 1976

1976

Education Canada is absorbed by CBIE, adding a new dimension – educational exchanges within Canada and internationally. CBIE’s first cross-cultural workshop, led by Chris Bimponh, Amaoko-Nuama and Jim Shute and attended by twelve student affairs staff from 10 universities.

Read more

1977

April 27, 1978

CBIE publishes Papers on Foreign Student Issues published.    

Read more

1978

June 24, 1978

1978

CBIE begins management of the Nigeria-Canada Technical Education Program which over the next several years brings over 1,000 Nigerians to study at Canadian colleges.

Read more

1979

April 28, 1979

1979

CBIE supported the first certificate program for international educators in Canada in the 1980s, at the University of British Columbia, which continues today. The council of Second Languages Programs in Canada is founded under CBIE sponsorship.

Read more

1980

April 27, 1980

CBIE led the first Canadian mission in Iran following the Revolution — promoting people-to-people relationships through education — leading to a major investment by Iran in a scholarship program in Canada.

Read more

1981

April 27, 1981

1981

CBIE generated debate with our study The Right Mix, discussing the need to aim for diversity in our international student population through recruitment and enrollments.    

Read more

1988

April 27, 1988

1988

CBIE conducted Canada’s first national survey of international student satisfaction, which led to improvements in international student employment opportunities and enhanced services on campus and from government.  

Read more

1989

April 27, 1989

1989

CBIE’s advocacy on behalf of Chinese students in Canada affected by events at Tiananmen Square led the federal government to establish the Chinese Student Emergency Service, implemented by CBIE.  

Read more

1990

August 24, 1990

Throughout the 1990s, working with top researchers, CBIE guided the discussion on internationalization of education, identifying its components and providing tools to measure achievement, and initiating discussion around risks and responsibilities in mobility programming.

Read more

1992

April 27, 1992

1992

With the support of the Canadian government, CBIE has enjoyed the longest uninterrupted technical assistance presence of any Canadian organization in Ukraine (including 18 technical assistance projects totaling over $80 million CAD) involving collaboration with government at central, regional and local levels, non-governmental organizations, civil society organizations, and policy think tanks, academic institutions, as well as the private sector.  

Read more

1994

April 27, 1994

CBIE advises on the creation of the Advisory Committee on International Students and Immigration (ACISI) by the Canadian government.  

Read more

1996

August 24, 1996

1996

From 1996-98 a series of discussions on trilateral partnerships take place including CBIE, institutions and organizations across Canada the USA and Mexico. The Program for North American Mobility in Higher Education is created and CONAHEC founded.

Read more

2000

April 28, 2000

2000

In the new millennium, CBIE has examined cross-border education, attempting to position our institutions to understand and manage new players in Canada and new ways of connecting themselves internationally. In support of the Millennium Project, CBIE supported 130 exchange program scholarships for students at member institutions and 30 grants for program development by our members.

Read more

2010

April 28, 2010

2010

The longstanding relationship between Libya and CBIE was renewed in 2010, when CBIE was selected to manage the Libyan scholarship program for North America. Through the upheavals of 2011 CBIE worked to ensure the welfare of the 2,500 Libyan scholars in Canada and the United States, engaging the support of the governments of both countries and of the United Nations. CBIE also mobilized effective support – moral and financial – from our member and partner institutions.

Read more

2011

April 28, 2011

2011

CBIE launched a PhD Research Series to encourage new researchers to enter the field.  

Read more

2012

April 28, 2012

2012

CBIE welcomes the administration Ciência sem Fronteiras scholarship program funded by the Brazilian government with support from the private sector.  Its main goal is to promote the consolidation and expansion of science, technology and innovation in Brazil by means of international exchange and mobility. CBIE publishes its first Flagship Report: A World of Learning

Read more

2013

April 28, 2013

2013

CBIE adopts a new Code of Ethical Practice, building on the 1993 Code CBIE along with four other national associations (ACCC, Universities Canada, caps-i and Languages Canada) renew their collective commitment to international education and change the name of their alliance to the Canadian Consortium for International Education (CCIE)

Read more

2014

April 28, 2014

2014

In January 2014 CBIE participated in ‘The Global Dialogue on the Future of Higher Education’ in South Africa, hosted by CBIE’s sister organization the International Education Association of South Africa (IEASA). It concluded with the Nelson Mandela Bay Declaration which declared the commitment of participants to promote a global higher education agenda which is equitable, ethical, socially responsible, accessible and accountable. CBIE adopts a Statement of Principles in Internationalization developed by CBIE’s Internationalization Leaders Network  

Read more

2015

April 28, 2015

The Canadian Francophonie Scholarship Program (CFSP) is a scholarship program designed to build institutional capacities by training employed nationals from developing countries of La Francophonie. The program is entirely funded by the Government of Canada. CBIE  launches Canada’s Education Abroad Lexicon, developed through a consultative process led by CBIE’s Education Abroad Advisory Committee (EAAC).

Read more

2015

September 21, 2015

2015

The African Leaders of Tomorrow (ALT) Scholarship Program commemorates the late Nelson Mandela’s commitment to social justice and equity. It supports young African professionals to become leaders in public policy and administration.

Read more

2016

April 28, 2016

2016

CBIE turns 50! Launch of International Students & Immigration Education Program  

Read more